Intelligence Bureau Test Date Announced 13-14 & 15 October 2017

September 29 03:58 2017 Print This Article

Intelligence Bureau Test Date Announced 13-14 & 15 October 2017

Test Date of Intelligence Bureau has been announced by the NTS on 13, 14 and 15 October 2017. You can check your center and test day/date by entering your CNIC number:

Click Here For Detail

The Intelligence Bureau  is a civilian intelligence agency in Pakistan. Established in 1947, the IB is Pakistan’s oldest intelligence agency. Appointments & supervision of its operations are authorized by Pakistan’s Prime Minister.

The Intelligence Bureau originally part of the British Raj’s Intelligence Bureau which was established by the British Army’s Major General Sir Charles MacGregor who, at that time, was Quartermaster General and head of the Intelligence Department for the British Indian Army at Shimla, in 1885Prior to this appointment, Major General Sir MacGregor was sent to British Indian Empire by the Queen Victoria.The IB’s objectives were to monitor Russian troops deployments in Afghanistan, fearing a Russian invasion of British India through the North-West during the late 19th century.

In the aftermath of the independence of Pakistan by the British Crown, the IB, like the armed forces was partitioned, with a Pakistan IB created in Karachi. Since, the IB is the oldest intelligence community; others being the Military Intelligence (MI) of Pakistan’s military. The IB was initially Pakistan’s only and main intelligence agency with the responsibility for strategic and foreign intelligence, as well as counter-espionage and domestic affairs.

Its poor performance with the MI and unsatisfactory detailing of the war with India in 1947 was however considered less than exemplary. Due to the fact, IB was concerned with internal security matters, and was not set up for foreign intelligence collection. These considerations ultimately led to the creation of the ISI in 1948 as it quickly took the charge of gathering strategic and foreign intelligence at all levels of command.

Appointment for IB’s Director-General are made by the Prime Minister but the appointment has to be confirmed by the President. The IB is a civilian intelligence agency, and its DG have been appointed from the civil bureaucracy and the police; as well as retired military officials have also served as DG IB.

List of IB Chiefs

  1. Maj.(R) Masood Shareef ?–1996
  2. Col (R) Iqbal Niazi, August 1998 – October 1999
  3. Maj Gen (R) Talat Munir, ? – October 2002
  4. Col (R) Bashir Wali Mohmand, October 2002 – February 2003
  5. Brig (R) Ijaz Shah, February 2004 – March 2008
  6. Tariq Ahmed Lodhi, March 2008 – August 2008
  7. Shoaib Suddle, August 2008 – May 2009
  8. Javed Noor, May 2009 – October 2011
  9. Akhter Hussain Gorchani, July 2012 – March 2013
  10. Aftab Sultan June 2013 – till date


write a comment


No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Add a Comment

Your data will be safe! Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.
All fields are required.